The Morgan City Police department serves as a Child Safety Seat Location Monday THrough Friday 8 am until 4 pm. we employ certified technicians that are part of the child passenger safety task force that will assist you in assuring that your child seat is properly installed in the event your involved in a crash. your child's safety is a priority to us.
CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY TASK FORCEThe Louisiana Passenger Safety Task Force is focused on raising awareness about occupant protection and provides widespread community education and coordinated child safety seat checks throughout Louisiana. To reach the objectives, LPSTF sought to reduce motor vehicle-related fatal and injury crashes to children through the following activities.
- Coordinate and support educational efforts by CPS advisory group members during National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) campaigns (such as Buckle Up America or National CPS Week).
- Provide five-day standardized child passenger safety (CPS) instructor/ technician classes in geographically appropriate areas for statewide impact. Areas will be selected based on lack of trained individuals in a particular area and accessibility for training facilities.
- Maintain a CPS advisory group to help provide a statewide comprehensive network of certified CPS technicians and instructors. The group would meet quarterly and be responsible for gathering and maintaining a database of all Louisiana CPS technicians.
- Create and maintain standardized, minimum requirements for CPS instruction provided during state generated CPS courses and the four-day NHTSA courses.
- Conduct checkup events throughout the state.
- Provide one-day instructional courses to recruit technicians, educate community groups, and promote occupant protection.
LAWSChild Occupant Seatbelt (R.S. 32:295) - Children under the age of 6 years or less than 60 lbs. must be in a child restraint system or booster seat that is age and size appropriate, in accordance with manufacturers recommendations. Children 6 to 12 years of age must be restrained by a lap belt, shoulder harness, or an age / size appropriate child safety or booster seat.
Child Restraint Affidavit (R.S. 32:414T) - The department shall send written notification to the driver to inform them of a 30 day allowance for the driver to show an affidavit for proof that an appropriate child safety seat has been obtained. Following the 30 day period, if no affidavit has been provided, the Department shall suspend the license of any person upon notification of the first or second conviction, until such time as he provides the department with a notarized affidavit stating he has acquired an approved age- or size-appropriate child restraint system where applicable and has complied with all other requirements of reinstatement as provided by law and department regulation.